Planning for the Future

Planning a Future

From time to time it is necessary to make plans, from budgets to shopping lists, plans are essential.

So given the current state of things with money constantly being consumed and a limited supply to replenish it, how does one plan for the future? This question is never an easy one to ask as it identifies that regardless of how much we think we earn or how much we think we’ve saved the future is still uncertain.

Can you really trust the people around you? Can you really trust the supply to continue? How will you survive if it all disappears? This uncertainty factor in life is always there though frequently so small as to be invisible. I, for one, trust my business partners, friends and family to help me as I would help them should the worst happen. Yet still there is always that slight anxiety that whispers in the back of the mind saying “What if … happens?” and on some levels I feel the need to answer it even though it’s just a whisper, an illogical fear.

To some extent I feel the need to store away enough money to ensure a maintained standard of living for an arbitrary period of time and largely I obey this instinct. Yet as a optimist I can’t help but plan out what I will do when I have “X” amount of money, I guess it’s in my nature. I  would say that actually enjoy the process of deciding what to do with large amounts of future income as much as I expect I will enjoy completing the tasks and milestones laid out in the planning stage.

Yet planning for the future, to me, is more than all that, it’s about planning a better world and then finding a way to help make it happen. One such plan is the “Philanthropy is Advertising Project” which is a pet project I’m planning to implement in the next year or two.

My core goals in life are to innovate both in technology and in the cultural revolution of socially responsible business. Though when my time comes as it inevitably does for all of us eventually, I want to be remembered not for the size of my wallet as so many other business people seem to, but for the size of my heart, I want to leave behind a legacy of change , of innovation in social responsibility. That is my driving force, my plan, my reason for being.

So what I’m interested in is how do you plan for the future? What are your core goals? And what do you want to be remembered for?

Speak soon,

Tim.

 

P.S. sorry this post is late, I’ve been more than a bit busy.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

Expat Since Birth

a blog by a plurilingual expat-since-birth, linguist, researcher, mum of three, living in the Netherlands and writing about bilingualism, multiculturalism, parenting abroad, international life...

Coffee Bean Glean

Words that collect on my coffee cups.

Balance and Grace

Musings on simplicity and the grace it takes to acheive it

grieftastic

No, you don't just get over it.

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

LAVINIA IN LONDON

A Romanian girl in London

everywhere all the time

decolonizing travel culture

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Help! ...I'm an EXPAT?

From departure to integration - The story of a hapless Brit thrown into expat life, Will he survive? or will he be assimilated?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

