Feeststol and Glühwein

Feeststol-Gluhwien-and-expats

I’ve not written a blog post in a few days, mainly because there has been little to talk about and I don’t want to be posting “insightful commentaries” all the time.

It’s that time of year again when new and experienced expats tend to feel like a roller-coaster of emotions and it’s no different for my husband and I despite our having been through it all before. I had promised myself that I’d not talk about this, but I am slightly disappointed that the world didn’t come to an end yesterday, perhaps due to a morbid curiosity or just because things seem to be moving so slowly at the moment, I even had my zombie survival kit ready on the off chance, but then nothing happened, so I guess I’ll just have to be an amazing business man instead of an awesome steam punk survivalist, though it is good to know that I won’t be needing to milk a cow any time soon.

With not much else to do over this holiday period my husband and I have been experimenting with a little local culture. Given our budget and the fact that it is cold outside we thought it would be a good opportunity to try the local culture and winter cuisine at home. So, as you do, we quite conspicuously followed some festive shoppers around the supermarket and picked up small versions of whatever they seemed to be grabbing in the bucket load. //hope we didn’t freak them out too much.// As a result of this “stalker shopping” we have thus far tried “een glas Glühwein” (a glass of mulled wine) and “een plakje Feeststol” (a slice of Feeststol – a Stollen like desert only with more booze in it). Unfortunately my Husband’s allergies to certain alcohols means I might get a little fat trying to finish off a number of desserts on my own, so I’m looking for alternative festivities to attempt as a couple on a budget instead.

In other news,  as the badges on the Help! I’m an Expat  homepage suggest, this blog is now a recommended blog by both internations and by expatsblog. So in order to keep up the standard of posts I’m going to reduce the frequency of posts to around twice a week. //If you like what I write than I’d be honoured if you’d leave a review on expatsblog//

Wishing you all a Happy Festive Season.

Speak Soon,

Tim.

P.S. What do you think of the new typographical headers? answers in the comments below.

–New posts will now be exclusively on every Mondays and Fridays with the exception of public events and special occasions.–

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

Expat Since Birth

a blog by a plurilingual expat-since-birth, linguist, researcher, mum of three, living in the Netherlands and writing about bilingualism, multiculturalism, parenting abroad, international life...

Coffee Bean Glean

Words that collect on my coffee cups.

Balance and Grace

Musings on simplicity and the grace it takes to acheive it

grieftastic

No, you don't just get over it.

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

LAVINIA IN LONDON

A Romanian girl in London

everywhere all the time

decolonizing travel culture

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Help! ...I'm an EXPAT?

From departure to integration - The story of a hapless Brit thrown into expat life, Will he survive? or will he be assimilated?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

