Every silver-lining has a cloud.

Yesterday was fantastic, today was not so much.
You see yesterday I had my first face to face meeting with my future business partner.
It went great! We had some coffee, spoke about our ideas, discussed start dates and set out a plan of action for the business.
So as you can imagine I was having a really good day, then today happened. Today I called the IND to check whether or not we could go and visit family in the UK over Christmas, but instead of getting the answer I was looking for, I was told that not only would it be difficult to get across the borders until we had the residence card in my husband’s passport, but also because my business partner and I will be registering our company in January, that it we wouldn’t be able to apply for the residence card until then.

Meaning that unless we register the business before we had originally planned then there is no chance we can visit the family for Christmas. This turn of events is obviously less than optimal and means that my husband might not be able to work until around March 2013. I don’t know if anyone has made the Dutch Government aware yet, but I would expect them to be aware of something as important as the fact that the world ends on the 21st of December 2012!

But even with the bad news about Christmas being cancelled, the good news of having found an amazing business partner and a good market niche is still enough to have me dancing with excitement inside.

Now all I need to do is get the Philanthropy is Advertising Project moving forward at a good rate and my business ventures for the period 2013-2014 will be all organised on schedule.

I’m not sure how much free time I will have, but the next 2 years are going to be awesome!

But here is the question I just can’t decide on an answer for: is my degree going to suffer so much that it is worth suspending my progress until things are settled? I’m afraid the answer is probably yes, and that scares me a little, it would be the first time in my life where I would stop officially studying.

So it turns out that although my silver lining has a cloud in the middle (I.E. no Christmas this year) the cloud is only a small one to ensure I remain the humble Buddhist.

Speak Soon,

Tim.

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

Expat Since Birth

a blog by a plurilingual expat-since-birth, linguist, researcher, mum of three, living in the Netherlands and writing about bilingualism, multiculturalism, parenting abroad, international life...

Coffee Bean Glean

Words that collect on my coffee cups.

Balance and Grace

Musings on simplicity and the grace it takes to acheive it

grieftastic

No, you don't just get over it.

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

LAVINIA IN LONDON

A Romanian girl in London

everywhere all the time

decolonizing travel culture

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Help! ...I'm an EXPAT?

From departure to integration - The story of a hapless Brit thrown into expat life, Will he survive? or will he be assimilated?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

