Weekends without High-Speed Broadband

Wow, I have to admit I thought access to the internet would be the least of my worries.

But here I am, Sunday afternoon, the internet cafe is shut, and I only have my mobile internet dongle.

It suck’s that it takes so long to get everything in life set up when you move somewhere new, we still don’t have local bank accounts and subsequently we have no Cable internet contract.

I’m not even sure we can get one since we are only renting this flat for 6 months.

On the plus side, I’m cooking a local dish called Stamppot tonight (apparently it’s just mashed potato, with anything else you can think of thrown together) – I might try to be a little more adventurous with it though.

Though I seem to have left the potato masher back in the UK so I’ve no idea how I’m going to mash the potatoes. - Perhaps I can use the blender…

Anyways, the weather is definitely European, wet and windy when you want to go and do something, dry and sunny when you don’t.

We’ve been here a little under a week now and it’s already happening Invader Stu warned me this would happen.

Speak Soon,

Tim

“Heb je een paraplu?”

Leave a Reply

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

expatsincebirth

A blog by an expat-since-birth multilingual mum living in the Netherlands with her Swissgerman husband, son and twin-daughters, about expat life, multilingualism, Third Culture Kids (and Adults), Culture and Parenting.

Coffee Bean Glean

Words that collect on my coffee cups.

Balance and Grace

Musings on simplicity and the grace it takes to acheive it

grieftastic

No, you don't just get over it.

Attila Ovari

A Blog about my life's adventures

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

The Better Man Project

A man in progress. One day at a time.

Lavinia's Writing Corner

A Romanian girl in London

everywhere all the time

decolonizing travel media

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Help! ...I'm an EXPAT?

From departure to integration - The story of a hapless Brit thrown into expat life, Will he survive? or will he be assimilated?

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

